Star Gazing Farm
  • gruff
  • joey
  • haruka
  • graham
  • wc
  • harry
  • betty
  • sam
  • maria
  • angel
  • dani
  • burr
  • tets
  • louisa-fp
  • kittens
  • tigba
  • orion
  • bello
  • jc
  • newman
  • derry

Star Gazing Farm Animal Sanctuary provides safe haven to abused, stray, and neglected farm animals

and offers educational programs and community service opportunities to young people.

The farm is located on 4 acres of rolling hills in Western Montgomery County, Maryland.

Make a Donation

Star Gazing Farm is a non profit 501(c)3 organization. Contributions are tax deductible.
CFC#: 86412

Farm stories

Read our Farm Stories (or, "The Chronicles of Newman")

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Animal news, stories, care tips, and general news about the farm

* = required field

News & Events

Letter to our Friends

Our annual winter letter talks all about animal news, the new barn, and the most amazing kids who volunteer! Read more!

Progress on our New Barn Construction

Thanks to all the wonderful people who have donated to make this new barn a reality! Please read about our updates here.

Student Learning Services Hours (SSL)

We offer community service learning hours to young people in the Montgomery County school system! Volunteers must be at least 11 years of age.  Volunteer Application Form.
Frequently asked questions about volunteering, visiting, and more

Featured Volunteer

Meet Blair!

blair-newmanMy name is Blair Stanford, and I originally learned about Star Gazing Farm via the Combined Federal Campaign (CFC). I particularly like working on events that introduce the public to the SGF animals and that promote education and interest in the farm.

Animal Spotlight

Meet Tetsuro!

Tessoro
Techa is clearly very, very intelligent. He has selected a very choice corner in the barn for his bed – and has gathered 6 inches or so of pine shavings to create himself a soft mattress. From time to time he will bring other items in to supplement his bed, including the horse blanket! He is very friendly toward the other animals; the sheep still start and run when he grunts but equines and goats are now at peace with him, and all species graze and nap together. Read more: http://www.stargazingfarm.org/tetsuro/

Volunteer Workdays

January

Saturday, January 17, 9-2
Tuesday, January 20, 4-7
Saturday, January 24, 9-2
Tuesday, January 27, 4-7
Saturday, January 31, 9-2

February

Tuesday, February 3, 4-7
Saturday, February 7, 9-2
Tuesday, February 10, 4-7
Saturday, February 14, 9-2
Tuesday, February 17, 4-7
Saturday, February 21, 9-2
Tuesday, February 24, 4-7
Saturday, February 28, 9-2

Volunteer Orientations

Saturday, January 24, 9-10 am
Saturday, February 21, 9-10 am
Saturday, March 21, 9-10 am
Read more about volunteering