Star Gazing Farm
  • sam
  • newman
  • angel
  • louisa-fp
  • maria
  • wc
  • joey
  • graham
  • haruka
  • dani
  • derry
  • kittens
  • tets
  • jc
  • orion
  • betty
  • harry
  • bello
  • gruff
  • burr
  • tigba

Star Gazing Farm Animal Sanctuary provides safe haven to abused, stray, and neglected farm animals

and offers educational programs and community service opportunities to young people.

The farm is located on 4 acres of rolling hills in Western Montgomery County, Maryland.

Make a Donation

Star Gazing Farm is a non profit 501(c)3 organization. Contributions are tax deductible.
CFC#: 86412

Farm stories

Read our Farm Stories (or, "The Chronicles of Newman")

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Animal news, stories, care tips, and general news about the farm

* = required field

News & Events

Letter to our Friends

Our annual winter letter talks all about animal news, the new barn, and the most amazing kids who volunteer! Read more!

Progress on our New Barn Construction

Thanks to all the wonderful people who have donated to make this new barn a reality! Please read about our updates here.

Shearing Day, April 18

12-4 at the farm.  We’ll be shearing our sheep and llamas and talking about fiber!  You can see the wool as it comes freshly off the animals, learn about skirting, sorting, and see what harvesting wool is all about. Gift shop will also be open.  Free, and open to the public!

Student Learning Services Hours (SSL)

We offer community service learning hours to young people in the Montgomery County school system! Volunteers must be at least 11 years of age.  Volunteer Application Form.
Frequently asked questions about volunteering, visiting, and more

Featured Volunteer

Meet Blair!

blair-newmanMy name is Blair Stanford, and I originally learned about Star Gazing Farm via the Combined Federal Campaign (CFC). I particularly like working on events that introduce the public to the SGF animals and that promote education and interest in the farm.

Animal Spotlight

Meet Louisa

louisa225200

Louisa was so shy when she first arrived at SGF that is was almost impossible to get near her. But little by little she has joined our farm family. She spends time with the sheep flock in front of the big fan in the summer, and she loves touring the farm with Jean-Claude every day. Read more about Louisa.

Volunteer Workdays

January

Saturday, January 17, 9-2
Tuesday, January 20, 4-7
Saturday, January 24, 9-2
Tuesday, January 27, 4-7
Saturday, January 31, 9-2

February

Tuesday, February 3, 4-7
Saturday, February 7, 9-2
Tuesday, February 10, 4-7
Saturday, February 14, 9-2
Tuesday, February 17, 4-7
Saturday, February 21, 9-2
Tuesday, February 24, 4-7
Saturday, February 28, 9-2

Volunteer Orientations

Saturday, February 21, 1-2 pm
Saturday, March 7, 1-2 pm
Saturday, March 21, 1-2 pm
Read more about volunteering