Star Gazing Farm
  • maria
  • joey
  • derry
  • wc
  • louisa-fp
  • burr
  • harry
  • kittens
  • tets
  • haruka
  • graham
  • sam
  • orion
  • angel
  • bello
  • jc
  • tigba
  • betty
  • gruff
  • newman
  • dani

Star Gazing Farm Animal Sanctuary provides safe haven to abused, stray, and neglected farm animals

and offers educational programs and community service opportunities to young people.

The farm is located on 4 acres of rolling hills in Western Montgomery County, Maryland.

Make a Donation

Star Gazing Farm is a non profit 501(c)3 organization. Contributions are tax deductible.
CFC#: 86412

Farm stories

Read our Farm Stories (or, "The Chronicles of Newman")

News

Farm Open House – July 26, 27

Please come and visit Star Gazing Farm on Saturday, July 26, 10-5 and Sunday, July 27, 10-4 as part of the Montgomery County Farm Tour.  Meet the animals, games, snocones, bunny motel tours, gift shop and more.  Free and open to the public.  Please leave your own pets at home!  Directons

Urgent need for new barn

Shearing – Alpacas, Llamas, Sheep, Goats

Still haven’t sheared your animals?  It’s getting hot – please contact Anne ASAP if you still need shearing.  Fall shearing for goats and longwool sheep is now being scheduled.  She covers the entire mid-Atlantic region. Her shearing methods are professional and humane. Services include hoof and tooth trimming and always gentle care of your animals. Read more about shearing or go directly to the scheduling request form.

Student Learning Services Hours (SSL)

We offer community service learning hours to young people in the Montgomery County school system! Volunteers must be at least 11 years of age.  Volunteer Application Form.
Frequently asked questions about volunteering, visiting, and more

Featured Volunteer

Meet Nikki

nikki My name is Nikki Schmitzer. I work full-time at a law firm in DC and love the escape from the corporate world to the peaceful farm in the country. My favorite animal at the farm is Dee Dee Donkey. She is an old lady with the perfect mix of sweet and feisty. Read more about Nikki

 

Events

2014 Farm Tour

Plan early for 2014: Come on out to see us at our major on-farm events!
Saturday-Sunday, July 26-27: Montgomery County Farm Tour

Animal Spotlight

Meet Rocky

rocky-04

Rocky is an 8 year old Holstein steer whose fate at the slaughterhouse was prevented by a very caring woman. He had a cancerous growth in his eye and had to have it removed last December, but he is doing well now. Rocky is a very sweet, easy going kind of guy! Read more about Rocky

Volunteer Workdays

July

Saturday, July 12, 9-2
Wednesday, July 16, 5-8
Saturday, July 19, 9-2
Wednesday, July 23, 5-8
Friday, July 25,noon-6

August

Saturday, August 2, 9-2
Wednesday, August 6, 5-8
Saturday, August 9, 9-2
Wednesday, August 13, 5-8
Saturday, August 16, 9-2
Wednesday, August 20, 5-8
Saturday, August 23, 9-2
Wednesday, August 27, 5-8
Saturday, August 30, 9-2

Volunteer Orientations

Saturday, August 2, 9- 10 am
Saturday, August 16, 9- 10 am
Read more about volunteering

Powered by WishList Member